St Marys Sec school timeline

1940: Established by Polly Jones (later O’ Mahony)  with Bess O Shaughnessy (later Mc Namara)

1941: Bess leaves to set up Shrulawn

1942: Nora Sheahan (later Kerrisk), from Cork joins the staff

1945: Nora leaves to set up her own school in Boherbue and later St Pat’s in Castleisland where she married Tom Kerrisk

1946: Nora Duggan (later Hawkes) from Louisburg, Co Mayo —Irish, commerce

1949: Nora Duggan takes over as principal from Polly

1958: Noreen O Sullivan(later O’Connell) from Castlemahon—Maths

1959: Purchase of Old COI NS(built 1830 but disused for 30 years prior to purchase)

1960-61: School leased to Askeaton NS while their new school was being built

1963: Moved to St Marys, church street (Old disused COI NS)

other teachers: Alicoke Flanagan, Terry Owens, Maura ? -art from Rathkeale, Carol Blodeau-art from Rathkeale,

1975-1980 staff included: Mrs Nora Hawkes, Mrs Mary Meade, Mr Sean Curran, Mr John Egan, Mrs Peggy Dooley, Mr Michael Long, Mrs Marie Long, Ms Ita Mc Donnell, Mrs Mary Garvey, Mrs Eileen Fitzgerald, Mrs Joe Scanlon, Mrs Rose Mc Elligott, Mrs Maura O’Brien art, Mrs Anna Lane, Mrs Eileen Kelly, Mrs Annette Curtin, Ms Helen O’ Riordan, Fr Mc Entyre, RE, Pallaskenry, Marion Wallace

Subs Ms Terry Owens, German, Cork,

198?: Opening of new extension by Mary O’ Rourke, minister for education

1988: Sports for the girls- opening of new volleyball court

May/June 1989: correspondence with Gerry Collins re setting up meeting with Mary O’ Rourke then Minister for Ed

Dec 1989: Golden jubilee celebrations held in ……..

1994: First phase of Coláiste Mhuire built (Mrs Hawkes heads to Lushoto, Tanzania for her mission Part 2 teaching with the Rosminian order)